Black Ensemble Theater: One Hit Wonders Now Showing

May 2, 2014
Share N'DIGO!

Black Ensemble Theater Founder and CEO Jackie Taylor announces the world premiere musical One Hit Wonders by Black Ensemble Theater Associate Director Rueben D. Echoles in collaboration with Dawn Bless, directed by Black Ensemble Associate Director Daryl D. Brooks. One Hit Wonders will be presented at the Black Ensemble Theater Cultural Center, 4450 N. Clark Street in Chicago, May 17-June 29, 2014.

This not-to-be-missed, hilarious musical spans some of the world’s biggest hits of the ‘60s, ‘70s, ‘80s and ‘90s. One Hit Wonders is a fun musical comedy that promises to deliver surprises and excitement.  The audience will be amazed at hearing extremely popular music that they never realized was a one hit wonder.  What are some of the songs?  Well we want you to wonder about that.  We can promise that this world premiere musical will be delivered in true Black Ensemble Theater style and leave you wanting for more.

The cast includes: Yando Lopez, Claudia Cunningham, Kelvin Roston Jr., Mark J.P. Hood, Brittney Thomas, Ally Jones, Mallory Makede, Ta-tynisa Wilson, Donald Craig Manuel, Lyle Miller and Eretha McCullough.

Dates:                          May 17-June 29, 2014

Previews: May 17 and 18, 2014                       

Schedule:                     Wed & Thurs:  7:30 pm| Friday 8:00 p.m.|   Saturday:   3:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.

Sunday:                       3:00 p.m.

Location:                      Black Ensemble Theater Cultural Center, 4450 N. Clark Street. | Valet parking is available.

Ticket prices:                $55 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Saturday matinees; and $65 on Fridays, Saturday evenings, and Sunday matinees. A 10% discount is available for students, seniors, and groups.

Box Office:                   Buy online at www.blackensemble.org or call (773) 769-4451


The Black Ensemble Theater

As with all Black Ensemble productions, the production features outstanding live music.  The musicians are Music Director Robert Reddrick (drums), Justin Dillard (keyboard), Herb Walker (guitar) and Danny O’Conner (bass).

Latest posts by Staff Writer (see all)

Leave A Comment